
NORTH DAKOTA FIREWORKS 
 

The information below is based on North Dakota Century Code Chapter 23-15. 
 
 

 
Consumer Fireworks (Formerly Class C Fireworks) 

Specifically permitted: Star lights, helicopter flyers, cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, 
wheels, torches, colored fire, sparkles, dipped sticks, comets, shells, soft 
shell firecrackers, and whistles. 

 *See NDCC 23-15-01(2) for exact size and weight restrictions* 
 
Selling Periods:   June 27 through July 5 
    December 26 through January 1 
 
Age of Purchase:  12 years of age or older 
 
 

 
Display Fireworks (Formerly Class B Fireworks) 

Display Permit:   Apply to city auditor at least 15 days before display date.  
$2.00 Fee 

 
Insurance:   None specifically required in state law. 
 
Operator: No license specifically required in state law. Rules of public display as 

defined in National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Standard 1123 
shall be used. 

 
 

 
Licensing 

Wholesale Distributor: Apply to Licensing Division, Office of Attorney General,  
600 E. Boulevard Ave Dept 125, Bismarck, ND 58505-0040 

    $250.00 Fee. 
 
Retail: Apply to county sheriff 
    $20.00 Fee 
 
Licensed are good for the calendar year in which they are issued. Only licensed wholesaler or retailer may 
import fireworks into the state. Retailers must purchase only from a licensed wholesaler. 
 
 

 
Enforcing Authority 

North Dakota State Fire Marshal 
PO Box 1054 
Bismarck, ND 58502-1054 
701-328-5555 
  



APPLICATION FOR RETAIL FIREWORKS LICENSE 
 
 
Year:_________ (License period is January 1 through December 31, but  

dates of permitted retail sales are limited by law) 
 
License Fee:  $20.00  *Must be included with application* 
    Make checks payable to “Pembina County Sheriff’s Office” 
 
North Dakota State Sales & Use Tax Permit #:______________ 
 
 
Applicant Name:_____________________________ Phone Number:_________________ 
 
 
Mailing Address: _______________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Applicant applies for a retail fireworks license pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Chapter  
 
23-15 to sell fireworks at:_________________________________________________________ 
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
     (Business Name & Address) 
 
Applicant is aware of all state and local laws, rules, and regulations regarding the sale and 
storage of fireworks. 
 
Because of the nature of the business being conducted, applicant agrees to comply with at least 
the following minimum safety standards: 
 

• A fire extinguisher must be placed in the premises in compliance with state and local 
codes and regulations. The minimum fire extinguisher for any site is 2A-10BC. 

• Adequate exits for the protection of customers and employees must meet applicable state 
and local codes. 

• Smoking, open flame, and discharging of fireworks are prohibited in and around the 
license premises. 

 
I hereby affirm that I understand the rules, regulations, and state and local laws relating to the 
sale of fireworks. I also agree to post the issued license in a conspicuous place at the licensed 
location where fireworks are sold. 
 
 

_______________________________ 
Applicant Signature 

 
 

_______________________________ 
Date 
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