The following are "unofficial minutes", subject to change at the next meeting.

BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

November 5, 2013

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: Andy Adamson, Laverne Doyle, Hugh Ralston, Hetty Walker and Gary Nilsson.

Chairman Nilsson called the meeting to order. Additions to the agenda include a letter of resignation.

The October 29, 2013 special meeting minutes were read. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hugh Ralston to accept the October 15, 2013 and October 29, 2013 special meeting minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Pembina County Fair Board minutes of August 28, 2013 were reviewed.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the consent agenda, of claims and the October payroll, as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission discussed the letter received from the Pembina County Water Resource District requesting a cost share on the Renwick Emergency Dike that was constructed during the spring flooding event. Katie Werner, Cavalier City Auditor, also present. Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Hugh Ralston to share the remaining balance of \$39,000.00 with the Water Resource District, Cavalier City and Pembina County, with each entity paying \$13,000.00. Discussion followed. Roll call vote: Laverne Doyle – yes; Andy Adamson – yes; Hugh Ralston – yes; Hetty Walker – yes. Motion carried.

Commission reviewed the bid rates for the county loan. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Hetty Walker to accept the bid received from the Bank of Hamilton. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Andrew Kirking, Emergency Manager, informed the Commission of his visit with the regional Fire Marshall, concerning fire safety issues. Mr. Kirking presented a handout on emergency escape ladders that could be utilized by individuals on the second and third floor of the Courthouse and presented options for additional smoke alarms. Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Laverne Doyle to purchase linked smoke alarms. All voting in favor; motion carried. Commission requested Mr. Kirking do additional research on emergency escape ladders and emergency slides.

Commission discussed the updated NDDOT 2014 – 2015 Federal Aid program sheet. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Andy Adamson to authorize the Chairman to sign the project sheet as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Drainage permit request received from Corey Nelson to laser the ditch from the north field approach to the south highway culvert, removing the high spots, at the corner of County Road 3 and County Road 12 in Section 9 of Park Township. Troy Kittelson, Highway Supervisor, approved the request. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hugh Ralston to authorize the Chairman to sign the request as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Tanya Wieler, Human Resource Director, discussed the combination of offices, part-time and seasonal positions, benefits, incorporating probationary increases, and required policy changes. Ms. Wieler also discussed implementation of an evaluation process for appointed department heads. Commission would like to have a plan implemented by January 2014.

Brian Erovick, Sheriff, spoke with David Zeis, Cavalier County Sheriff, and Lauren Wild, Walsh County Sheriff, regarding a truck regulatory position. Cavalier County is not interested at this time. Walsh County is interested in a shared position. Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Laverne Doyle to proceed with the truck regulatory position, providing Walsh County shares the position. Discussion followed. Roll call vote: Laverne Doyle – yes; Andy Adamson – yes; Hugh Ralston – yes; Hetty Walker – yes. Motion carried.

Chairman Nilsson informed the Commission of a letter of resignation received from Ed Stremick. Mr. Stremick will be resigning his position with the Pembina County Water Resource Board, effective November 15, 2013. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Andy Adamson to regretfully accept the letter of resignation.

Chairman Nilsson adjourned the meeting at 11:55AM.