## BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

## www.pembinacountynd.gov

January 5, 2016

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: Laverne Doyle, Nick Rutherford, Hugh Ralston, and Hetty Walker. Absent: Gary Nilsson.

Linda Schlittenhard, Auditor/Treasurer, called the meeting to order and called for nominations for the 2016 Chairperson. Hugh Ralston nominated Laverne Doyle as chairperson, seconded by Hetty Walker. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Nominations called for Vice Chairperson. Laverne Doyle nominated Nick Rutherford as Vice Chairperson for 2016, seconded by Hugh Ralston. All voting in favor; motion carried.

The meeting was turned over to Chairman Doyle.

Commission expressed their thanks to Commissioner Walker for all of her work over the past year. Chairman Doyle called the meeting to order.

Sheriff Terry Meidinger visited with the Commission regarding recent changes in his department. Tony Dumas has been hired as Chief Deputy, beginning January 25, 2016. Jared Danielson was assigned to the Task Force position which was held by Derek Madsen. There are three applicants for the vacant deputy position and interviews are currently underway. Sheriff Meidinger updated the Commission on the office being set up at the Pembina Border.

Auditor/Treasurer, Linda Schlittenhard, presented the Pledge of Assets and List of Depositors of Pembina County funds. Motion to approve the Pledge of Assets and Depositors made by Nick Rutherford and second by Hugh Ralston. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to approve the December 15, 2015 minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission was presented the 2016 Fire Sprinkler Inspection Contract, for the Law Enforcement Center, with Dakota Fire Protection. Motion made by Hetty

Walker and seconded by Hugh Ralston to authorize the Chairman to sign the contract as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission was presented with the NDDOT contract and contract bond paperwork for project BRO-0034(031). The project was bid in November 2015 and Awarded to Midwest Contracting LLC. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to authorize the Chairman to sign the contract and contract bond as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission discussed 2016 board appointments.

Commission reviewed the list of accounts receivable for year-end 2015.

Discussion followed on a bill received from Duane Littlejohn. Motion made by Nick Rutherford to deny the reimbursement request, as the previous motion was for the purchase of a 36" trap and there was no discussion on reimbursement for the cost of tree removal. Motion seconded by Hetty Walker. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the consent agenda, consisting of year-end and current claims and the December payroll. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to adjourn the meeting. All voting in favor; motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 10:30AM.