The following are "unofficial minutes", subject to change at the next meeting.

BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

January 7, 2014

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: Laverne Doyle, Andy Adamson, Hugh Ralston, and Hetty Walker. Absent: Gary Nilsson.

Linda Schlittenhard, Auditor/Treasurer, called the meeting to order and called for nominations for the 2014 Chairperson. Andy Adamson nominated Hugh Ralston as chairperson, seconded by Hetty Walker. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Nominations called for Vice Chairperson. Laverne Doyle nominated Hetty Walker as Vice Chairperson for 2014, seconded by Hugh Ralston. All voting in favor; motion carried.

The meeting was turned over to Chairman Ralston. Commission expressed their thanks for all Commissioner Nilsson's work over the past year. Chairman Ralston called the meeting to order. Discussion followed on the O'Hara Bridge Riparian project, which will be presented as a success story at the upcoming Red River Basin Conference in Fargo, and a pipeline safety computer teleconference that Commissioner Adamson participated in.

Pledge of Assets and List of Depositories was presented to the board. Motion made by Laverne Doyle to approve the Pledge of Assets and List of Depositories; seconded by Hetty Walker. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the December 17, 2013 minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission reviewed the proposal received from Kadramas, Lee & Jackson for the structure replacement near Mountain and discussed the letters received regarding the County Road 55 structural overlay.

Kristina Halvorson, Pembina County Soil Conservation District Manager, extended an invitation to the Pembina County Commission to attend the Tongue River

Outreach Meeting which will be held at 1:00PM on Thursday, January 9, 2014 at the Icelandic State Park Heritage Center.

Commission discussed 2014 board appointments. Justin Robinson has declined his reappointment to the Historic Preservation Commission, but suggested Char Binstock be appointed to the position. Certificates have not been returned for the Social Service Board, Board of Health, Zoning Board, or Reorganization Committee. Auditor will contact individuals regarding the reappointments. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to appoint Char Binstock to the Historic Preservation Committee. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Troy Kittelson, Highway Supervisor, discussed compensation from individual departments for work that is completed on departmental vehicles. Troy will visit with department supervisors and report back at a later meeting.

Jon Markusen and Wade Thompson, Kadramas, Lee & Jackson, and Troy Kittelson, Highway Supervisor, present for engineering contract proposal for the structure replacement near Mountain. Only proposal received was from Kadramas, Lee & Jackson. Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the engineering contract with Kadramas, Lee and Jackson as presented. Roll call vote: Laverne Doyle – yes; Andy Adamson – yes; Hetty Walker – yes. Motion carried. Discussion followed on the location of telephone and gas lines and the existing conditions of the construction area.

Jeanne Chaput, Public Health Administrator, inquired about the Board of Health appointee. Jeanne updated the Commission on the 2013 budget and thanked them for the funding they approve for Public Health, informed them of the number of flu vaccinations the office has administered, and the Tobacco Cessation program. Board reviewed the letter or notice from Jeanne stating her intent to retire, based on the Rule of 85, in January 2015. Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Andy Adamson to accept Jeanne Chaput's Rule of 85 retirement effective January 2015. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Raffle permit request received from Pembina County Mayville State University Alumni. Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the raffle permit as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission was presented with a letter of resignation from Cory Mortensen. His last day of work will be January 8, 2014. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to accept the letter of resignation as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to authorize the Chairman to sign the settlement agreement and release, pertaining to the Laidlaw Bridge, as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission reviewed the 2013 Accounts Receivable. Individuals and townships will be contacted regarding outstanding balances.

Commission was presented the 2014 Fire Sprinkler Inspection Contract with Dakota Fire Protection. Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Laverne Doyle to authorize the Chairman to sign the contract as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Board reviewed the November financial statement. Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the consent agenda, consisting of year-end and current claims, December payroll, and the November financial statement.

Commission was informed of the Northeast County Commission Association Meeting that will be held at the armory in Devils Lake on Wednesday, January 15, 2014.

With no further business, Chairman Ralston adjourned the meeting at 10:55AM.