## The following are "unofficial minutes", subject to change at the next meeting.

## BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

December 5, 2017

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commission Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: Jim Benjaminson, Laverne Doyle, Nick Rutherford, Hugh Ralston and Hetty Walker.

Chairperson Rutherford called the meeting to order.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the November 21, 2017 meeting minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission discussed moving the January 2018 meetings from the first and third Tuesday to the first and third Wednesday due to the holidays. All agreed to set the January meetings to January 3<sup>rd</sup> and January 17<sup>th</sup>.

Pembina County Water Board minutes of September 26, October 17, October 24, November 7, November 14 and November 21, 2017, were reviewed.

Commission was presented with the 2018 contract between Pembina County and The Village Business Institute for the Employee Assistance Program. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Laverne Doyle to authorize the Chairman to sign the contract as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission discussed 2018 liquor licenses. Motion made by Hugh Ralston to approve the current liquor licenses fees for 2018. Motion seconded by Jim Benjaminson. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission reviewed the list of Board appointments and made the following appointments and reappointments:

Water Resource Board – reappointed Joshua Heuchert and Charles Thacker to three (3) year terms;

Social Service Board – reappointed Kathy Johnson and Laverne Doyle to three (3) year terms;

County Library Board – reappointed Jim Benjaminson, Deanna Lane and Katherine Lunde to three (3) year terms;

County Health Board – reappointed Joseph Allred, DDS to a five (5) year term;

Pembina County Housing Authority – reappointed Edna Sharp to a four (4) year term;

Planning and Zoning Board – reappointed Lawrence Gapp and Sarah Winkler to three (3) year terms;

Pembina County Reorganization Committee – reappointed Danne Hartje and Greta Whelan to four (4) year terms;

Pembina County Job Development Authority – reappointed Roberta Corrick, Charles Wellman and Myrna Styles to three (3) year terms and appointed Dawn Van der Lith to fill the unexpired term of Ann Burgess;

Historic Preservation Commission – reappointed Marlys Boll to a three (3) year term.

Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to accept the Board appointments and reappointments as listed above. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Paul Stremick, North Border School District Superintendent, presented a Transportation Alternatives Program (TA) application offered through the North Dakota Department of Transportation. The project is for Safe Routes to School and must be sponsored by a government entity if the population is under 5000. Mr. Stremick is requesting the Commission sponsor the project and act as the pass through entity for the project. Motion made by Jim Benjaminson and seconded by Hetty Walker to sponsor the project and authorize the Chairman to sign the application and a letter of support for the project. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Laverne Doyle to authorize the Chairman to sign county deeds regarding the sale of county property on November 21, 2017. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission reviewed the claims and November payroll. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the consent agenda as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Drainage application received from Ryan Fitzsimonds to remove the silt from the ditch on the north side of County Road #55 in the SW¼ of Section 3 of St Joseph Township. The application has been approved by Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent. Motion made by Laverne Doyle to approve the request. Second by Hetty Walker. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Jim Benjaminson to adjourn the meeting. All voting in favor; motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 10:20 AM.