BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

December 3, 2013

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: Andy Adamson, Laverne Doyle, Hugh Ralston, Hetty Walker and Gary Nilsson.

Chairman Nilsson called the meeting to order.

Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Hetty Walker to accept the November 19, 2013 minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Pembina County Fair Board minutes of October 29, 2013 were reviewed.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Andy Adamson to approve the consent agenda, of claims and the November payroll, as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission was presented with the resolution from the ND Department of Transportation regarding the bid received for the structure replacement 3 miles west and 1 mile north of Mountain. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Andy Adamson to authorize the Chairman to sign the resolution as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Andrew Kirking, Emergency Manager, updated the Commission on the local Emergency Planning Committee. Mr. Kirking is requesting representation from the Commission on the committee. Chairman Nilsson agreed to serve on the committee beginning in 2014.

Commission was presented with the 2014 contract between Pembina County and The Village Business Institute for the Employee Assistance Program. Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Laverne Doyle to authorize the Chairman to sign the contract as presented.

Board reviewed list of Board appointments and made the following appointments and reappointments:

County Coroner – reappointed Susan Thompson for a one (1) year term. Water Resource Board –reappointed Jerry Juhl to a three (3) year term Dept of Human Service Advisory Board – reappointed Barb Ault to a two (2) year term.

Social Service Board – reappointed Hugh Ralston to a three (3) year term and appointed Debra Fraser to a three (3) year term.

County Library Board – reappointed Lyle VanCamp, Zelda Hartje and Karen Masloski to three (3) years terms.

County Health Board –appointed Debra Fraser to fill the one (1) year unexpired term of Dwight Longtin.

Pembina County Housing Authority- reappointed Edna Sharp to a four (4) year term.

Planning & Zoning Board – appointed Sarah Winkler to fill the one (1) year unexpired term of Scott Reck.

Pembina County Reorganization Committee – reappointed Greta Whelan to a four (4) year term.

Pembina County Job Development Authority – reappointed Nancy Thompson, Hugh Ralston, Darold Johnson, and Kenneth Briese to three (3) year terms; appointed Charles Wellman to fill the one (1) year unexpired term of Ardis Olson, Kristina Halverson to fill the two (2) year unexpired term of Julius Wangler and appointed Charles Damschen to a three (3) year term.

911 Advisory Board/LEPC Task Force – appointed Andrew Kirking to an indefinite term.

County Historic Preservation Commission – reappointed Jeff Blanchard, James Benjaminson, Zelda Hatje, Justin Robinson and Hugh Ralston to three (3) year terms; appointed Patty Hart and Katherine Lunde to three (3) year terms.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Laverne Doyle to accept the Board appointments and reappointments as listed above.

Julie Doyle, Tax Director, Jeff Stevenson, Cavalier City Assessor, Katie Werner, Cavalier City Auditor, and Allen Anderson, Cavalier City Councilman, returned to discuss a possible cost share on commercial property appraisals for Cavalier City. Ms. Doyle stated that the previous payments made by the County were for abatements and not appraisal costs. Mr. Stevenson updated the Commission on his meeting with Mr. Mel Carson regarding the process of appraising these commercial properties. Motion made by Andy Adamson to not participate in a cost share for the appraisals. Motion failed due to lack of a second. No action taken at this time.

Tanya Wieler, Human Resource Director, discussed holiday pay for dispatch employees, who work 12 hour shifts. Motion made by Hugh Ralston to pay dispatch employees holiday pay for the 12 hour shift they work. Motion seconded by Laverne Doyle. Discussion followed. Roll call vote: Laverne Doyle –yes, Andy Adamson – yes, Hugh Ralston – yes, Hetty Walker - yes. Motion carried. Jon Markusen and Wade Thompson, Kadramas, Lee & Jackson, discussed the bid opening for the Mountain bridge project, County Road #55, the project along Interstate 29 and other 2014 proposed projects. Mr. Markusen thanked the Commission for the business over the past year.

Commission discussed the professional development and computer training sessions that will be offered by the Pembina County and Walsh County Job Development Authorities. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Hetty Walker to allow Pembina County employees paid time off to attend any of these training sessions. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Chairman Nilsson adjourned the meeting at 11:25AM.