BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

December 17, 2013

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: Laverne Doyle, Hugh Ralston, Hetty Walker and Gary Nilsson. Absent: Andy Adamson.

Chairman Nilsson called the meeting to order. There were no additions to the agenda.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Laverne Doyle to accept the December 3, 2013 minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Pembina County Housing Authority Board minutes of November 5, 2013 were reviewed.

Commission discussed Board appointments. There are several Certificates of Appointment that have not been returned to date. Commission will revisit in January 2014.

Troy Kittelson, Highway Superintendent, discussed the purchase of equipment for the Highway Department. Mr. Kittelson will look at state bids and report back at a later meeting. Troy also discussed spring flooding projects that have been deemed ineligible for payment by FEMA. Troy is working with individuals from Bismarck to get these projects approved.

Pembina County Water Resource Board thanked the Commission for the cost share on Drain #47 and the Renwick Dam emergency dike. Robert Fleming, Water Board Attorney, discussed a Memorandum of Understanding, for the County #9/Drain 47 FEMA project, between True North Steel, Pembina County Water Board and Pembina County. Stephenie Davis, Pembina County State's Attorney, also present. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Laverne Doyle to authorize Troy Kittelson, Highway Superintendent, to sign the memorandum when available. Mr. Fleming also discussed the Laidlaw Bridge complaint and the Glasston Bridge. Chairman Nilsson discussed the appointment of an individual for the Water Board and thanked the Water Board for all of their work this past year.

Eric Gauthier, Veteran's Service Officer, presented each Commissioner with a complimentary book given by the South Korean government as a thank you to all the American Veterans of the Korean War. The book is available to all Veterans of the Korean War through the local Veteran's Service Office (701-265-4460).

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Laverne Doyle to authorize the Chairman to sign county deeds regarding the sale of county property on November 19, 2013. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the processing of a year-end batch of claims, with the checks being held until the next meeting for approval.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the consent agenda as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Board discussed the upcoming 2014 primary and general elections process to be used in Pembina County. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Laverne Doyle for Pembina County to continue with vote by mail elections in 2014. For those choosing to vote in person on Election Day, rather than in advance by mail, there will be one polling place available in the county for the primary and general election. The polling site will be in the Farmer's Room of the Pembina County Courthouse in Cavalier. County election precincts to remain as follows:

Precinct #1

01-01 Pembina Township, Joliette Township, Carlisle Township, Neche Township, Hamilton Township, Bathgate Township

01-02 Pembina City

01-03 Neche City

01-04 Hamilton City

01-05 Bathgate City

Precinct #2

02-01 Walhalla Township, St Joseph Township, Felson Township, LaMoure Township, Advance Township 02-02 Walhalla City

Precinct #3

03-01 Beaulieu Township, Akra Township, South Cavalier Township, Thingvalla Township, Park Township, Lodema Township, Gardar Township, Crystal Township

03-02 Mountain City

03-03 Canton City (Hensel)

03-04 Crystal City

Precinct #4

04-01 North Cavalier Township 04-02 Cavalier City

Precinct #5

05-01 Elora Township, St Thomas Township, Midland Township 05-02 St Thomas City

Precinct #6

06-01 Drayton Township, Lincoln Township 06-02 Drayton City

Roll call vote: Laverne Doyle-yes, Hugh Ralston-yes, Hetty Walker-yes. Motion carried.

Commission was presented with the 2014 Court Facilities Grant request. Judge Laurie Fontaine is requesting a desk/workstation for the reception area of the Clerk/Recorder office. Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the Court Facilities Grant as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Hugh Ralston to authorize the Chairman to sign the May 2013 – November 2013 meeting minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Chairman Nilsson adjourned the meeting at 11:15AM.