The following are "unofficial minutes", subject to change at the next meeting.

BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

December 8, 2016

9:00 AM

Oaths of Office of elected officials taken by James Benjaminson, County Commission District #2 and Laverne Doyle, County Commission District #4.

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: James Benjaminson, Laverne Doyle, Nick Rutherford, and Hugh Ralston. Absent: Hetty Walker.

Chairperson Doyle called the meeting to order.

Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to approve the November 15, 2016 minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Pembina County Fair Board minutes of October 24, 2016 along with the October 26, 2015 Annual Meeting minutes were reviewed.

Pembina County JDA minutes of May 11, 2016 and September 14, 2016 were reviewed.

Pembina County Water Board minutes of June 28, 2016 through November 22, 2016 were reviewed.

Motion made by Jim Benjaminson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to authorize the Chairman to sign county deeds regarding the sale of county property on November 15, 2016. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Jim Benjaminson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to authorize the Chairman to sign the repurchaser deeds as presented.

Commission reviewed the list of Board appointments and made the following appointments and reappointments:

Water Resource Board – reappointed Jerry Juhl to a three (3) year term Social Service Board – reappointed Hugh Ralston and Debra Fraser to three (3) year terms.

Pembina County Library Board- reappointed Lyle Van Camp and Zelda Hartje to three (3) year terms.

Pembina County Housing Authority- reappointed Nettie Douville and Andy Adamson to four (4) year terms.

Planning & Zoning Board – reappointed Hetty Walker to a three (3) year term. Pembina County Reorganization Committee – reappointed Kathy Stremick to a three (3) year term.

Pembina County Job Development Authority – reappointed Lisa Plante, Hugh Ralston, Charles Damschen, Kenneth Briese and Corene Vaughn to three (3) year terms and appointed Jim Benjaminson to fill the unexpired term of Gary Nilsson. Pembina County Historic Preservation Commission – reappointed Jim Benjaminson, Zelda Hartje and Hugh Ralston to three (3) year terms.

Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to accept the Board appointments and reappointments as listed above.

Commission was informed of the refund received from NDRIN (North Dakota Recorders Information Network). NDRIN group agreed to refund a portion of the fees back to the counties based on the number of documents recorded. Pembina County received a refund of \$2,589.25 to be used in the Document Preservation Fund.

Monica Brusseau, Victim Witness Advocate, Ryan Bialas, State's Attorney, and Whitney Benoit, State's Attorney Administrative Assistant, met to discuss the Victim Witness Office. Ryan requested clarification on the structure of the Victim Witness office. The two departments are located in the same office space and work very closely together, however the Victim Witness office is a separate department from the State's Attorney. Motion made by Nick Rutherford and seconded by Jim Benjaminson to keep the Victim Witness office a separate department. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission reviewed the October financial statement. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Jim Benjaminson to approve the consent agenda, consisting of claims, October financial statement and the November payroll, as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Terry Meidinger, Sheriff, introduced Trudy Wileman, Corrections Officer, and Trent Adams, Truck Regulatory. Trent began his duties as Truck Regulatory on August 15, 2016 and Trudy began her duties as a jailer on December 1, 2016. Samantha Diemert was also hired as a Corrections Officer and began her duties on December 1, 2016.

Jon Markusen and Alyssa Clemen, Kadramas, Lee & Jackson, presented the County Road #1 project change order for Commission signature. The change order had been approved at a previous meeting.

Jon presented three options for finishing County Road #1 from ND Highway 32 to 4 miles east. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to move forward with Alternative B-2, which consists of a structural overlay, cable guardrail and chevrons and flattening the inslopes. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Culvert request received from Wayne Ratchenski to replace the 18" X 30' culvert in the SW ¼ of Section 7 of Bathgate Township with two 36" x 40' culverts. Kendall Construction will be installing the culverts which Chad Kendall will purchase from the County. The application has been approved by two township officers, the Water Board and Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent. Motion made by Hugh Ralston to approve the request. Second by Nick Rutherford. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Drainage permit request received from Garrett Thompson to clean the road ditch along County Road #4 from Highway 66 south one mile to Drain 67-A in Section 26 of South Midland Township. The request has been signed by the landowner, reviewed by the Water Board and approved by Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent. Motion made by Nick Rutherford and seconded by Hugh Ralston to authorize the Chairman to sign the request as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Drainage permit request received from Lyle Shephard to do routine maintenance on the ditch along the west side of County Road #12 in the NE¼ of Section 33 of Park Township. The request has been reviewed by the Water Board and approved by Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Jim Benjaminson to authorize the Chairman to sign the request as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Jim Benjaminson to adjourn the meeting. All voting in favor; motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 11:20AM.