BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

December 4, 2012

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: Gary Nilsson, Laverne Doyle, Hugh Ralston, Hetty Walker and Andy Adamson.

Chairman Adamson called the meeting to order and welcomed newly elected Commissioner Laverne Doyle.

Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the November 20, 2012 meeting minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission reviewed the bid rates for the county loan. Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to accept the bid received from Choice Financial of Walhalla, ND. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission was informed of the refund received from NDRIN (North Dakota Recorders Information Network). NDRIN group agreed to refund a portion of the fees back to the counties based on the number of documents recorded. Pembina County received a refund of \$2,199.75 to be used in the Document Preservation Fund.

Commission was presented with a letter from Judge Laurie Fontaine regarding the Court Facilities Grant. Judge Fontaine is requesting a new workstation for the Pembina County Clerk of Court office.

Auditor/Treasurer, Linda Schlittenhard, presented a report on the investment interest earned for the past year. A total of \$21,106.37 has been collected to date. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Hetty Walker to transfer the interest to the General Reserve Fund. Discussion followed. Roll call vote: Gary Nilsson-yes, Laverne Doyle-yes, Hugh Ralston-yes, Hetty Walker-yes, Andy Adamson-yes. All voting in favor; motion carried. Bid received on property described as Lot 3 and W ½ Lot 4, Block S, Emmerling's 1st Addition and vacated alley, City of Walhalla. Bid of \$50.00 received from Thaddeus Faeth. Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Laverne Doyle to accept the bid as listed above for the above described property. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Gary Nilsson to approve the consent agenda of claims and the November payroll as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Tim Timmerman, Fred Thoelke and Alva Brown, Crystal City Auditor, informed the Commission of the Special Road Fund application they are submitting to the ND Department of Transportation to assist with improvements on Crystal City streets leading to the Crystal City Park. Troy Kittelson, Highway Supervisor, also present. The city is requesting a letter of support for the project from the county. The city will have a 40% cost share on the proposed project and has raised the majority of the needed funding through donations from local businesses and individuals. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve a letter of support for the City of Crystal. Discussion followed. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Troy Kittelson updated the Commission on the Special Road Fund and Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) applications that he plans on submitting to the ND Department of Transportation for improvements on county roads.

Commission was presented with the Agreement for the Provision of State's Attorney's Services between Walsh County and Pembina County. Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to authorize the Chairman to sign the agreement as presented. Roll call vote: Gary Nilsson - yes; Laverne Doyle - yes; Hugh Ralston - yes; Hetty Walker - yes; Andy Adamson - yes. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Board reviewed list of Board appointments and made the following appointments and reappointments:

County Coroner – reappointed Susan Thompson for a one (1) year term.

Water Resource Board –reappointed Ronald Falk and Edward Stremick to three (3) year terms

Dept of Human Service Advisory Board – appointed Laverne Doyle to a two (2) year term.

Social Service Board – reappointed Ardis Olson to a three (3) year term and appointed Laverne Doyle to fill the unexpired term of Corene Vaughn.

County Health Board – reappointed Sterling Stevens to a five (5) year term. Pembina County Housing Authority- reappointed Nettie Douville and Robert Lasch to four (4) year terms.

Planning & Zoning Board – reappointed Andy Adamson, Darold Johnson and Hugh Ralston to three (3) year terms.

Pembina County Reorganization Committee – reappointed Kathy Stremick to a four (4) year term and appointed Danne Hartje to a four (4) year term. Pembina County Job Development Authority – reappointed Gary Nilsson, Mary Houdek, Kathy Stremick, Julius Wangler, Chuck Thacker, and Curtis Morrison to three (3) year terms, appointed Ann Burgess and Gale Watts to three (3) year terms and appointed Joe Miller to fill the unexpired term of Curtis Olafson. Board Representative Red River Regional Council – appointed Hetty Walker to a two (2) year term.

Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Hetty Walker to accept the Board appointments and reappointments as listed above.

Commission reviewed allowing the Friday after Thanksgiving as a holiday. Motion made by Gary Nilsson to keep the Pembina County Courthouse open the day after Thanksgiving. Each department must remain open for business, with at least one individual in each office. Second by Hugh Ralston. Discussion followed. Roll call vote: Gary Nilsson – yes; Laverne Doyle – yes; Hugh Ralston– yes; Hetty Walker – no; Andy Adamson - yes. Motion carried.

Chairman Adamson declared the meeting adjourned.

/s/ Andy Adamson, Chairman Pembina County Board of Commissioners

ATTEST: /s/ Linda Schlittenhard Pembina County Auditor/Treasurer