BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

December 20, 2011

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: Corene Vaughn, Gary Nilsson, Andy Adamson, Hetty Walker and Hugh Ralston.

Chairman Vaughn called the meeting to order. Additions to the agenda include the letter received from the Department of Emergency Services regarding the Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plans.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the December 6, 2011 meeting minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Pembina County Housing Authority minutes were reviewed.

Board reviewed list of Board appointments and made the following appointments and reappointments:

County Coroner – reappointed Susan Thompson for a one (1) year term.

Water Resource Board – appointed Chuck Thacker and Josh Heuchert to three (3) year terms.

Social Service Board – reappointed Kathy Johnson and Corene Vaughn to three (3) year terms.

County Library Board – reappointed Jim Benjaminson and Deanna Lane to three (3) year terms.

County Health Board – reappointed Stuart Askew to a five (5) year term.

Pembina County Housing Authority- reappointed John Johnson to a four (4) year term. Planning & Zoning Board – reappointed Lawrence Gapp and Scott Reck to three (3) year terms.

Pembina County Reorganization Committee – reappointed Judy Stellon to a four (4) year term.

Pembina County Job Development Authority – reappointed Roberta Corrick, Leon Dubourt, Ardis Olson, Lynette Flage and Deirdre Lee to three (3) year terms. Pembina County Historic Preservation – reappointed Marlys Boll to a three (3) year term.

Motion made by Gary Nilsson to appoint the two individuals to the Water Resource Board and reappoint the individuals to the respective Boards as listed above. Second by Andy Adamson. Discussion followed. Roll call vote: Gary Nilsson – yes; Andy Adamson – yes; Hugh Ralston – yes; Hetty Walker – no; Corene Vaughn - yes. Motion carried. Jon Markusen, Kadramas, Lee & Jackson, met with the Commission to thank them for the past year's business. Discussion followed on the one time DOT distribution and cost projections for upcoming projects. The Commission thanked Mr. Markusen for all of his work over the past year.

Neil Meagher met with the Commission to discuss the Tongue River cut-off. Commission requested Mr. Meagher to remain and discuss with the Water Resource Board.

Commission discussed survey requirements. Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to require a survey of plats that are smaller than 10 acres or of irregular shape. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Pembina County Water Resource Board met with the Commission. Chairman Boettger updated the Commission on County water issues and the status of current projects. Commission requested the Water Board to address the concerns Mr. Meagher has on the Tongue River cut-off. Discussion followed.

Judge Fontaine met with the Commission to discuss the 2012 Court Facilities grant. Judge Fontaine is requesting a storage cabinet for the jury room and to install Kevlar inside the judicial bench, court reporter desk, clerk desk and bailiff desk. Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Gary Nilsson to approve the Court Facilities Grant requests as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Board discussed the upcoming 2012 primary and general elections and process to be used in Pembina County. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Gary Nilsson for Pembina County to continue with vote by mail elections in 2012. For those choosing to vote in person on Election Day, rather than in advance by mail, there will be one polling place available in the county for the primary and general election. The polling site will be in the Farmer's Room of the Pembina County Courthouse in Cavalier. County election precincts to remain as follows:

Precinct #1

01-01 Pembina Township, Joliette Township, Carlisle Township,

Neche Township, Hamilton Township, Bathgate Township

- 01-02 Pembina City
- 01-03 Neche City
- 01-04 Hamilton City
- 01-05 Bathgate City

Precinct #2

- 02-01 Walhalla Township, St Joseph Township, Felson Township, LaMoure Township, Advance Township
- 02-02 Walhalla City

Precinct #3

03-01 Beaulieu Township, Akra Township, South Cavalier Township, Thingvalla Township, Park Township, Lodema Township, Gardar Township, Crystal Township 03-02 Mountain City 03-03 Canton City (Hensel) 03-04 Crystal City

Precinct #4 04-01 North Cavalier Township 04-02 Cavalier City

Precinct #5 05-01 Elora Township, St Thomas Township, Midland Township 05-02 St Thomas City

<u>Precinct #6</u> 06-01 Drayton Township, Lincoln Township 06-02 Drayton City

Roll call vote: Gary Nilsson-yes, Andy Adamson-yes, Hugh Ralston-yes, Hetty Walkeryes, Corene Vaughn-yes. Motion carried.

Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Hetty Walker to authorize the processing of a year-end batch of claims with checks being held until the next meeting for approval. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the claims. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Andy Adamson to reopen the emergency declaration to pay remaining bills. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commissioner Ralston updated the Board on the Hazard Mitigation meeting that he attended on December 13, 2011. The letter received from the Department of Emergency Services regarding establishing a Regional Hazard Mitigation plan was reviewed. Commission will discuss the proposal with Jill Pedersen, Emergency Management, at a later date.

No further business; meeting adjourned.