BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

December 21, 2010

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room at the Courthouse with the following members present: Corene Vaughn, Andy Adamson, Hugh Ralston, and Gary Nilsson. Absent: Hetty Walker.

Meeting called to order by Vice-Chairman Vaughn.

Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Andy Adamson to approve the December 7, 2010 meeting minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Board reviewed and allowed county claims.

Board discussed the window project and the email received from Kerry Peuser concerning the finishing of the interior.

Judge Laurie Fontaine met with the Commission regarding the Court Facilities Grant. Requesting air conditioning units and shades for the Court Room, Judge's Chambers, Juvenile Coordinator office, Jury Room, Clerk's office, and District Court Office.

John Jenson met with the Commission to discuss air conditioning estimates for the Court Facilities Grant. There would be a need for 5 evaporators and 3 condensers to cover the Court related rooms for the grant.

Commissioners Adamson, Vaughn and Walker will be attending the 28th Annual Red River Basin Land & Water International Summit Conference in Fargo on January 18 – 20, 2011. The January 18, 2011 meeting will be cancelled -since there will not be a quorum. All voting in favor.

Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the processing of a year end batch of claims with the checks being held until the next meeting for approval.

Pembina County Housing Authority meeting minutes reviewed as presented.

The November 2010 financial report was reviewed. Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Andy Adamson to approve the November 2010 financial report as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to authorize the Vice-Chairman to sign the County Deeds as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

City of St Thomas property. No bids received at the County Sale on the following described property:

Lots 2-6, Block 16, OT Lots 22-24, Block 43, OT

Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Gary Nilsson to accept the bid of \$1.00 for the above listed property from the City of St Thomas. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to authorize the Vice-Chairman to sign the Application for Occupancy on Right of Way of County Highways with Polar Communications and Vantage Point for construction of buried fiber optic cable to upgrade the Cavalier exchange. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Water Resource Board met with the Commission. Water Board updated the Commission on the federal funding cuts for beaver and predator dam projects, the Canadian Dike lawsuit, the 89th Street Bridge, and the Renwick Rehabilitation Project, which was shut down on December 1, 2010 for the working season, but is on schedule. Clarence Boettger updated the Commission on the repairs on Bridge 34-128-18. Commissioner Adamson discussed the bridge that was damaged in Walhalla Township and suggested that repairs be pursued.

Jeff Osvold, Pembina County Sheriff's Department, met with the Commission to request a new dishwasher for the jail. The following bids were received:

Humble's Heating and A/C - \$1,350.00 installed

Cavalier Gas - \$950.00 installed

Motion made by Gary Nilsson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the bid from Cavalier Gas for the purchase of a non-commercial dishwasher which meets all the state requirements. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Board reviewed the list of Board appointments and made the following appointments and reappointments:

Water Resource Board – reappointed Jerry Juhl to a three (3) year term.

Advisory Board to Department of Human Services – reappointed Corene Vaughn to a two (2) year term.

Social Service Board – reappointed Hugh Ralston and Dwight Longtin to three (3) year terms.

County Library Board – reappointed Zelda Hartje, Lyle VanCamp and Vance Nelson to three (3) year terms.

County Health Board – reappointed Hugh Ralston and Kulvinder Sumra to five (5) year terms.

Pembina County Housing Authority- reappointed Emil Gendreau to a four (4) year term.

Planning & Zoning Board – reappointed Hetty Walker to a three (3) year term. Pembina County Reorganization Committee – reappointed Greta Whelan to a four (4) year term.

Pembina County Job Development Authority – reappoint Hugh Ralston, Darold Johnson, Curtis Olafson, Corene Vaughn, and Shari Hanson to three (3) year terms. Appoint Ken Briese to a three (3) year term.

Red River Regional Council – reappoint Corene Vaughn to a two (2) year term with Hugh Ralston as alternate.

Pembina County Historic Preservation – reappoint Leon Dubourt, Justin Robinson, and Jim Benjaminson to three (3) year terms. Appoint Hugh Ralston for a three (3) year term. Waiting for Katherine Lunde to get names approved by State Historical Society for 1 open position.

Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Andy Adamson to authorize the above reappointments and appointments as listed. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Senator Curtis Olafson, District 10 Representatives Dave Monson and Chuck Damschen met with the Commission for an open forum. Also present: Water Resource Board, Liz Beck, 911/IT/Gis Coordinator and Jeanne Chaput, Public Health Administrator. Water Resource Board expressed their concerns on the Federal cuts related to beaver and predator dams that will impact the funding to the Water Resource Board. Senator Olafson suggested that they bring their concerns to ND Game & Fish, ND State Water Commission, and the ND Department of Agriculture. Liz Beck discussed her concerns of proposed changes in the routing of the 911 calls. Proposed legislation would have 911 calls funneled through the state versus individual counties. Ms. Beck does not want to see any more local control taken away from the counties. Jeanne Chaput invited the legislators to attend a Public Health meeting in Bismarck on February 9, 2011 and discussed issues related to the Tobacco Grant. Flood control issues related to the proposed Fargo Diversion, unfunded state mandates, infrastructure concerns in the oil producing counties, state aid distribution funding, and the state surplus were discussed. Senator Olafson explained the misunderstood concept taxpayers have regarding the state surplus. Vice-Chairman Vaughn

thanked the Senator and Representatives for taking time out of their schedules to hear the County's concerns and sharing their concerns.

Jon Markuson and Matt Settergren, Kadramas, Lee & Jackson, met with the Commission. Commissioner Vaughn spoke about the County's concerns with the O'Hara Bridge and Commissioner Adamson expressed his concerns about the Young Bridge. Mr. Markuson will report his findings to the Commission.

No further business; meeting adjourned.