The following are "unofficial minutes", subject to change at the next meeting.

BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

August 6, 2013

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: Andy Adamson, Laverne Doyle, Hugh Ralston, Hetty Walker, and Gary Nilsson.

Chairman Nilsson called the meeting to order.

Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to accept the July 16, 2013 Commission minutes and July 19, 2013 Special Meeting minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Pembina County JDA minutes of May 8, 2013 were reviewed.

Request for a raffle permit received from Faith in Action Health Coalition. Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the request as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Pledge of Assets and List of Depositories presented to the board. Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the Pledge of Assets and List of Depositories as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Andy Adamson to nominate Kay Braget as the NDACo delegate and Andy Adamson as the alternate; second by Hugh Ralston. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Drainage permit received from Jeff Anderson to clean the silt out of the ditch along County Road #3 in Section 8 of Park Township. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the permit as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried. Drainage permits received from Stegman Farms to clean the silt out of the ditch along County Road #2 in Section 3 of Cavalier Township, and along County Road #55 in Section 3 of Felson Township. Troy Kittelson, Highway Supervisor, inspected the sights and approved the requests. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the permits as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Drainage permit received from Newell Brothers to clean the silt out of the ditch along County Road #55 in Sections 2 & 3 of Felson Township. Troy Kittelson, Highway Supervisor, inspected the sight and approved the request. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the permit as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Sarah Braaten, Red River Regional Council, present for the contract award for the riparian project by the O'Hara Bridge. Ms. Braaten reviewed all bid specifications with the Commission and discussed the lack of a bid for root wads to be placed on the north bank. Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Laverne Doyle to award the vegetation contract to Eco-Industries, Inc. and the stream bank restoration and stabilization contract to LaFreniere Construction. Discussion followed. Roll call vote: Laverne Doyle – yes; Andy Adamson – yes; Hugh Ralston – yes; Hetty Walker – yes. Motion carried.

Drainage permit received from John Elloitt to clean the silt out of the ditch along County Road #11 in Section 5 of Drayton Township. Troy Kittelson, Highway Supervisor, inspected the sight and approved the request. Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the permit as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Julie Doyle, Tax Director, John Johannesson and Chief Ron Delorme, met to request a property tax exemption for property described as Pt SW 1/4 SE 1/4 of Section 1, Township 162N, Range 52W of Carlisle Township, Parcel 05-1650020. Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Hugh Ralston to deny the application based on the recommendation of the State's Attorney. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Julie Doyle, Tax Director, and Jim Wznick, North Star Coop Manager, met with the Commission to revisit the request for a 15 year payment in lieu of taxes property tax incentive. A five year 100% tax exemption was approved in June 2011. The appraisal of the property has been completed and is valued at \$1,050,000.00. Motion made by Andy Adamson to approve a graduated 15 year payment in lieu of taxes, at 7% per year. Motion seconded by Hugh Ralston. Mr. Wznick noted that he will appeal the decision. All voting in favor; motion carried. Troy Kittelson, Highway Superintendent, and Jon Markusen, Kadramas, Lee & Jackson, discussed 2014 proposed road projects. Mr. Markusen presented a map and listing of the proposals. Projects must be submitted to the ND Department of Transportation by August 16, 2013. Motion made by Andy Adamson and seconded by Laverne Doyle to submit the Priority 1 – Priority 5 projects to the ND Department of Transportation. Discussion followed on maintenance overlays versus structural overlays. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Dennis Rowe and Neil Meagher discussed concerns with the replacement of the bridge on Drain #77 (old Drain #42) with one 72" culvert. Mr. Rowe and Mr. Meagher believe there should be two culverts in place, opposed to a single culvert. Mr. Markusen updated Mr. Rowe and Mr. Meagher on the engineering specifications used to determine the size of the culvert that should replace the existing structure. Mr. Kittelson will discuss the concerns with the Water Board when he meets with them this afternoon and report to the Commission at the July 20, 2013 meeting.

Commission discussed the removal of the piers from the former Defoe Bridge with Mr. Kittelson. Troy has contacted Triple D Construction regarding the removal of the piers and is waiting for a response.

Joseph Safranski, Midway Seeds, requested to have his approved culvert request changed from one 24" culvert to two 24" culverts or one 30" culvert. Troy Kittelson, Highway Supervisor, will inspect the sight and report his decision to the Commission.

Request received from Chizzy's to transfer his liquor license to the Kevin Robinson farm on Saturday, August 24, 2013. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the transfer pending township approval. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the consent agenda, claims and July payroll, as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Chairman Nilsson informed the Commission of the resignation of Ardis Olson from the Pembina County Job Development Authority.

Chairman Nilsson recessed until 1:00PM.

Chairman Nilsson reconvened the meeting at 1:05PM.

Commission discussed the ongoing dust problem on the detour road to Icelandic State Park. Jim Semerad, ND Department of Health, contacted the Auditor regarding a complaint he received regarding the dust problems. With the recent rain and the camping season nearing an end, the county will revisit in the spring.

Drainage permit received from Neil Bernhoft to clean the silt out of the ditch along County Road #3 in Section 7 of Park Township and Section 10 & 11 of Thingvalla Township. Troy Kittelson, Highway Supervisor, inspected the sight and approved the request. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the permit as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

With no further business, Chairman Nilsson adjourned the meeting.