The following are "unofficial minutes", subject to change at the next meeting.

BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

August18, 2020

8:30 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 8:30 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: Jim Benjaminson, Laverne Doyle, Hugh Ralston and Hetty Walker. Absent: Nick Rutherford.

Chairman Ralston called the meeting to order.

Motion made by Jim Benjaminson and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the August 6, 2020 minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Request to purchase properties described as Pt NE¼NE¼, Tract 80′ X 153′, (Parcel 26-0080000) and Pt E½NE¼ of Section 13, (Parcel 26-0120020), City of Canton. The City of Canton is interested in purchasing these parcels. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Jim Benjaminson to approve the sale of said property to the City of Canton for \$1.00/parcel plus a \$20.00 filing fee for each deed. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission discussed the Pembina County Library Board. An Attorney General's opinion, regarding the County Library levy, was received by Rebecca Flanders, Pembina County State's Attorney. A library board can only operate pursuant to NDCC 40-38. Per Ms. Flanders, since there is no "county library" the county is not able to levy unless there is a set plan on how things are going to operate going forward, remaining in compliance with NDCC 40-38. Three different arrangements of city and county contracts from around the state were presented. Discussion followed on the option to have one library serving as a fiscal agent and then to have contracts/memorandums of understanding between the libraries regarding the funding and services, which would mean that all libraries would still have their own library boards. Commission requested the Auditor visit with the State's Attorney to discuss this option.

Culvert request received from Bruce Ralston to replace a 24" x 30' culvert with a 36" x 36' culvert to allow additional drainage in the SE¼ of Section 36 of Thingvalla Township. The application has been signed by two township officers and approved by the Water Board, with a recommendation to have a stream crossing study completed, and Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent. Motion

made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Jim Benjaminson to approve the request as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Devin discussed the screw gate that was installed on the culvert along 131st Ave and County Road #3 near Gordon Sondeland's. Motion made by Jim Benjaminson to leave the responsibility of opening and closing the screw gate with the township Supervisors. Seconded by Laverne Doyle. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Kay Braget, Clerk/Recorder, introduced Melissa Morden as the new Deputy Clerk/Recorder. Missy began her duties with the Clerk/Recorder's office on August 10th. Penny Karel, Deputy Clerk/Recorder also present.

Commission discussed the upcoming 2020 general election in Pembina County. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker for Pembina County to continue with vote by mail election for the 2020 General Election. For those choosing to vote in person on Election Day, rather than in advance by mail, there will be one polling place available in the county for the general election. The polling site will be in the Farmer's Room of the Pembina County Courthouse in Cavalier. County election precincts to remain as follows:

Precinct #1

01-01 Pembina Township, Joliette Township, Carlisle Township, Neche Township, Hamilton Township, Bathgate Township

01-02 Pembina City

01-03 Neche City

01-04 Hamilton City

01-05 Bathgate City

Precinct #2

02-01 Walhalla Township, St Joseph Township, Felson Township, LaMoure Township, Advance Township 02-02 Walhalla City

Precinct #3

03-01 Beaulieu Township, Akra Township, South Cavalier Township, Thingvalla Township, Park Township, Lodema Township, Gardar Township, Crystal Township

03-02 Mountain City

03-03 Canton City (Hensel)

03-04 Crystal City

Precinct #4

04-01 North Cavalier Township 04-02 Cavalier City Page 8377

Precinct #5

05-01 Elora Township, St Thomas Township, Midland Township 05-02 St Thomas City

Precinct #6

06-01 Drayton Township, Lincoln Township 06-02 Drayton City

Roll call vote: Jim Benjaminson – yes; Laverne Doyle – yes; Hetty Walker – yes. Motion carried.

Motion made by Jim Benjaminson and seconded by Hetty Walker to appoint Tanya Wieler as election inspector for the November 3, 2020 General Election. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission reviewed the claims. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the consent agenda as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Jim Benjaminson to adjourn the meeting. All voting in favor; motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 9:56 AM.