The following are "unofficial minutes", subject to change at the next meeting.

BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

April 17, 2018

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: James Benjaminson, Laverne Doyle, Nick Rutherford, Hugh Ralston, and Hetty Walker.

Chairman Benjaminson called the meeting to order.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the April 3, 2018 minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Pembina County Housing Authority minutes of March 8, 2018 were reviewed.

Pembina County Fair Board minutes of March 21, 2018 and March financials were reviewed.

Request for raffle permit received from Pembina County Livestock Association. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the request. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Board received the Funding Agreement for Clerk of District Court Services from the ND Supreme Court. Agreement is for reimbursement in the amount of \$11,782.00 per month for July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2021. Agreement is reviewed every two years. Reimbursement is based on 1.27 FTEs. This is down from the previous biennium which was based on 1.53 FTEs. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Nick Rutherford to authorize the Chairman to sign the agreement as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission reviewed the letter from Roger Olafson regarding the motion made at the March 20th meeting to have assessors place values on tax exempt property that is subject to annual review. Commission discussed sending a letter to all township clerks and city Auditors, so everyone receives the **correct** information, on the requirements to place values on these exempt properties. The Commission contacted Mikka Willits, Tax Director, regarding the letter from Mr. Olafson. Commission requested her input for detailed instructions on placing values on tax exempt property subject to annual review. Discussion followed. Mikka would like to meet with the Pembina County assessors prior to a letter being sent, to ensure the assessors are educated on the requirements. Mikka will compile detailed information for Commission review at a later meeting. Mikka invited the Commission to attend the commercial assessing training Mel Carson will hold for all Pembina County assessors. This is not an open meeting.

Commission reviewed the March financial statement and claims. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the consent agenda as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Jon Markusen, Kadramas, Lee & Jackson, and Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent, discussed County Road #1. Jon presented and reviewed maps showing the six priority roads and traffic volume on those roads. Jon presented a spreadsheet showing repair options and costs for these priority roads. Cost comparisons were presented for a 2" mill & overlay, a 3.5" overlay, a 2" mill and Texas underseal, a 1" mill, paving fabric and 3" overlay, a reconstruction with geogrid and sliver widening and a full reconstruction. Jon discussed a repair option using a product called Petromat. After reviewing the spreadsheet the Commission discussed available funding for projects and alternatives to repair County Road #1. Jon discussed the possibility of TRIP grant dollars covering new applications and doing "test strips" on County Road #1. Commission requested Jon move forward with a mill and overlay project using some sort of paving fabric, apply for a TRIP grant and see if there is a local project using Petromat that the Commission could look at.

Commission and Devin Johnson, Highway Supervisor, discussed spring load limits. Devin informed the Commission that spring weight limits went into effect on Tuesday, April 10, 2018 at 10:00 AM. Motion made by Nick Rutherford and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the weight limits as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Devin presented a Road Use Agreement between Enbridge Energy and Pembina County for use of Pembina County roads for pipeline construction purposes. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hugh Ralston to authorize the Chairman to sign the agreement as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Devin discussed repair options for the bridge 6 miles west of Neche, on 109^{th} St NE, in St Joseph Township. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to replace the bridge with three $112' \times 75''$ arch pipes. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Devin discussed issues his department is having with their current software program and presented an estimate from a new software company called Pub Works. Motion made by Nick Rutherford and seconded by Laverne Doyle to authorize the purchase of the new software from Pub Works. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent, present for bid openings. Commission received bids from the following to furnish chips for the 2019 working season: Commissioner Rutherford recused himself from voting.

Strata Corporation: \$9.50/ton with .18/ton mile hauling charge Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hugh Ralston to accept the bid of Strata Corporation for chips for the 2019 work season. Delivery to be made after November 16, 2018 and before spring weight limits go on in 2019. Roll call vote: Laverne Doyle – yes; Hugh Ralston – yes: Hetty Walker – yes. Motion carried.

Commission received bids from the following to furnish Pembina County with asphalt products for the 2018 work season: NorMont Equipment: \$2.56/gallon delivered Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Hetty Walker to accept the bid of NorMont Equipment. Roll call vote: Laverne Doyle – yes; Nick Rutherford – yes; Hugh Ralston – yes: Hetty Walker – yes. Motion carried.

Duane Littlejohn, Insurance Associates, met with the Commission for the annual insurance review. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Nick Rutherford to renew the insurance policy as presented for 2018. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Nick Rutherford and seconded by Hetty Walker to adjourn the meeting. All voting in favor; motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 12:10 PM.